Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Library Mice
Library Mice
  • Why Library Mice? Because little bookworms in French are “library rats” but mice are much nicer! I hope you’ll enjoy my blog, and might even find an idea or two for you own little mice. There will be a mix of English and French books reviewed, but whenev
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Library Mice
Archives
30 mars 2007

Top 50 Children's Books

The “Books for Children” bookclub has just published the top 50 children’s books. They asked members (I never got round to doing it) and are now publishing the results. So there they are with some comments from me (aren’t you glad!). The * means I have read it, most of them I own too.

DSCF2668_2_

0-3 years
The Very Hungry Caterpillar – Eric Carle *
A great classic and a fantastic concept. All these little holes, and pictures of food, I mean, what else does a toddler want? I would always recommend buying the board book version though.

Guess How Much I Love You
– Sam McBratney & Anita Jeram*
This is a lovely book, but my two have never been really taken by it. They like listening to the audio version though.
Thomas the Tank Engine
– Rev W. Awdry*
Well, fine, ok, Thomas is a legend. But the books are so boring!!!!!

The Tale of Peter Rabbit
– Beatrix Potter*
The Gruffalo
– Julia Donaldson & Axel Scheffler*
This is fab – what else can I say?
Kipper
– Mick Inkpen*
The Hutchinson Treasury of Fairy Tales
Where’s Spot
– Eric Hill*
Meg and Mog
– Helen Nicoll & Jan Pienkowski*
See my two monsters above enjoying Meg and  Mog in French!
Each Peach Pear Plum 
– Allan & Janet Ahlberg*
The Snowman
– Raymond Briggs
It’s funny, but I have never really warmed to this book.

Hairy Mclary from Donaldson’s Dairy – Lynley Dodd*
Dear Zoo
– Rod Campbell*
We’re Going on a Bear Hunt
– Michael Rosen & Helen Oxenbury*
We saw a great stage adaptation of this. Isn’t it great when you can recite whole chunks of books off by heart with your kids?

The Tiger Who Came to Tea – Judith Kerr*

4-6 years
Winnie-the-Pooh – A.A. Milne & E.H. Shepard*
Where the Wild Things Are
– Maurice Sendak*
The Cat in the Hat
– Dr Seuss*
Tales from Percy’s Park: Owly Night
– Nick Butterworth*
The Wind in the Willows
– Kenneth Grahame & Inga Moore*
We have the version with the original illustrations  (E.H. Shepard’s). I have never understood why people see it as a children’s book. It is very complex.

The Giraffe, the Pelly and Me - Roald Dahl & Quentin Blake
The jungle Book
– Rudyard Kipling & Nicola Bayley
A Bear called Paddington
– Michael Bond
The Velveteen Rabbit
- Margery Williams & William Nicholson
I have always wanted to have this book, ever since it featured in an episode of Friends (“The One with the Dirty Girl” series 4 … I know we are the saddos who still watch friends on E4)

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll & Helen Oxenbury*
Have both original version and Helen Oxenbury’s. I must admit I much prefer the latter.

The Jolly Postman – Janet & Allan Ahlberg*
Love it, but requires an awful lot of prior knowledge on fairy tales, just like Lauren Child’s Who's Afraid of the Big Bad Book?

Peter Pan – J. M. Barrie*
who on earth would read the original Peter Pan to a 4 year-old? I read it as an (young) adult and I struggled!

7-12 years
His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman.
Ok here I have to put my hands up, in shame: I am a school librarian and I have never read his Dark Materials. I know, I hear you gasp in utter disbelief. I did start Northern Lights but I found it so boring. It is on my list of “give this one another try”.

The Complete Chronicles of Narnia – C.S. Lewis.
Ditto the above. Why are Brits so obsessed with fantasy? Interestingly, Pullman is appaerntly no big fan of Lewis. There is a lot of Christian symbolism in Narnia, whereas His Dark Materials has been banned in many places for being anti-Christ.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J.K. Rowling*
well, who exactly does not own this book? The woman has sold trillions of them! I loved this one, not sure about the rest of the series, but this one really stood out from other kids’ books when it first came out.

The Worst Witch
– Jill Murphy
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
– Road Dahl & Quentin Blake*
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
– Mark Twain
Black Beauty
– Anna Sewell
Charlotte's Webb
– E.B. White*
Five Children and ItE. Nesbit

The Little Grey Men – B.B.
Should I be ashamed to say that until now I had never heard of the book? Nah ....

The BFG - Road Dahl & Quentin Blake
The Magic Faraway Tree
– Enid Blyton
Stig of the Dump
– Clive King
Goodnight Mr Tom
– Michelle Magarian
Matilda
- Road Dahl & Quentin Blake*
How can a librarian not like Matilda, the little girl who says “I am wondering what to read next (…) I’ve finished all the children’s books.” Bless.
Carrie’s War – Nina Bawden
The Sheep-pig
– Dick King-Smith*
Little Women
– Louisa May Alcott*
Milly-Molly-Mandy Stories
– Joyce Lankester Brisley.
When I went to see Shirley Hughes speak, she said those were a favourite of hers and had been a real inspiration so it HAS to be good!

The Secret Garden - Frances Hogson Burnett*
The Railway Children – E. Nesbit*
I love this book, and I love the film too!
Watership Down
– Richard Adams
Treasure Island - Robert Louis Stevenson

Mmmmm … so there you go. Loads are missing (Shirley Hughes, Lauren Child, John Burningham for a start) but then I suppose nobody is ever going to be totally happy, are they? I very look forward to Junior Magazine’s. In fact I’d better start thinking of my top 5 right now, the closing date is in August and I’ll need at least that to make up my mind!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
T
I have been visiting various blogs for my term paper research. I have found your blog to quite useful. Keep updating your blog with valuable information...Regards
M
As you wish, my dear! :0)<br /> J'ai plein d'autres livres a ajouter sur celui-la mais j'avoue preferer travailler sur Book'in!<br /> Si tu aimes les livres en anglais je serais peut-etre ta sawppeuse, qui sait! (c'est pas moi qui decide, c'est Gawou!)
F
Je viens de découvrir ton deuxième blog et cette liste est extra : je vais pouvoir compléter la mienne!! (faut-il mettre les commentaires en anglais ?)
Publicité